Go to top of page

Royal Commission begins site visits across Murray-Darling Basin

22 March 2018

The Murray-Darling Basin Royal Commission will begin visiting Basin communities next week to hear from local people and view key sites.

Commissioner Bret Walker SC, Senior Counsel Assisting Richard Beasley SC, and Commission staff will travel the expanse of the Basin, from Queensland to South Australia, as part of the Commission’s inquiry.

Mr Beasley said it was important for the Royal Commission to listen to Basin communities and see key sites first-hand.

“We anticipate this will be a significant part of the Commission’s inquiry and will provide important information from local communities about the Basin Plan,” he said.

The Commission was established in January 2018 by the South Australian Governor to inquire into the operations and effectiveness of the Murray-Darling Basin Plan

The Commissioner is due to provide his report on February 1, 2019.

More details of the visits will be released soon, with Basin communities invited to register on the Commission’s website to attend and/or speak at Community Consultations.

The Murray Bridge Community Consultation will be held next week on Thursday, 29 March, 2018, from 10.30am to 12.30pm at the Murray Bridge Community Club.

Register online at: mdbrc.sa.gov.au or email: mdbroyalcommission [at] mdbrc.sa.gov.au.

To inform its work the Commission is also:

Receiving written submissions from the public, with the submission period open until 30 April, 2018. Submissions can be uploaded at www.mdbrc.sa.gov.au

Conducting public hearings to gain more information about the Basin Plan and its impacts.

For updates on the Commission go to mdbrc.sa.gov.au and connect on Facebook and Twitter.

Telephone: (08) 8207 1483 or toll free (from landlines) 1800 842 817.

The Murray-Darling Basin Royal Commission site visits include:

  • Murray Mouth, Coorong, and Lower Lakes (SA)
  • Murray Bridge (SA)
  • Albury-Wodonga (NSW/Vic)
  • Moree (NSW)
  • Goondiwindi (Qld)
  • Broken Hill (NSW)
  • Renmark (SA)
  • Mildura (Vic)
  • Bourke (NSW)
  • Shepparton (Vic)