Go to top of page

Attorney-General's Department Homepage

Photo of Murray–Darling basin

Murray-Darling Basin Royal Commission

The Murray-Darling Basin Royal Commission was established by His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia on 23 January 2018. The purpose of the Royal Commission is to investigate the operations and effectiveness of the Murray-Darling Basin system. 

The Royal Commissioner can obtain information for the inquiry by seeking relevant documents, taking evidence from people who have relevant experiences with the Murray-Darling Basin and receiving formal written submissions from people or organisations.

After further consideration, the Commissioner has determined that he will not be releasing an interim report. The Commissioner’s final report will be provided to the Governor by 1 February 2019.

The Commissioner has invited the Commonwealth Government and Murray-Darling Basin Authority, along with the governments of South Australia, NSW, Queensland, and Victoria to appear at a public hearing. See the correspondence here

Correspondence with the Attorney-General, including the Commission's correction of the Attorney-General's Media Release published 10 August 2018, is available here.

Extraterritorial powers of the Murray-Darling Basin Royal Commission - explanatory memorandum - 14 May 2018 (PDF 58KB)